Term Dates

There are 190 days in the school year.  90% in a test is good- but if your child’s attendance was 90% from Y1 to Y11 it means they will miss a whole year of school.  If your child takes just 10 days holiday during school time and has no other absences for the year it means the best attendance they can achieve is 94.7%.

  • Just 10 minutes late each day = 1 lesson lost in a week
  • 1 lesson lost per week = over 1 school day lost each half term
  • 1 school day lost each half term = over a week of learning lost

Good attendance and punctuality are directly linked to achievement, your child’s chance of success are greatly improved if they are in school on time regularly.


School Calendar


School Holidays – Academic 2017-2018

Autumn Term 1

School reopens Tuesday 5th September 2017

School closes Friday 27th October 2017 – Half term begins

NB. Friday 29th September 2017 – staff training day, school shut

Autumn Term 2

School reopens Monday 6th November 2017

School closes Thursday 21st December 2017 – Christmas holiday begins

Spring Term 1

School reopens Monday 8th January 2018

School closes Friday 16th February 2018 – Half term begins

Spring Term 2

School reopens Monday 26th February 2018

School closes Thursday 29th March 2018 – Easter holiday begins

Summer Term 1

School reopens Monday 16th April 2018

School closes Friday 25th May 2018 – Spring Bank Holiday

May Day Holiday

Monday 7th May 2018 – Bank Holiday

Summer Term 2

School reopens Monday 4th June 2018

School closes Friday 20th July 2018 – Summer holiday begins

Curriculum Days (school shut to children)

Monday 4th September 2017

Friday 29th September 2017

Friday 22nd December 2017

Monday 23rd July 2018

Tuesday 24th July 2018

Calendar for 2018/2019 can be accessed here:

Westways Primary School Holidays 2018-2019 staff