Home   Information   Governors


School governors perform an important function at Westways: they help determine the strategic direction of the school, ensure that pupils and staff are safe and both challenge and support the school in tackling weaknesses and bringing about improvements.  The governing body represents the whole school community, and is made up of:

  • The Headteacher
  • 1 other staff governor
  • 3 elected parent governors
  • 1 local authority governor
  • 5 co-opted governors

We meet at least once a term to look at the issues which affect the school as a whole.  We also have two committees: Attainment, Policy & Curriculum covers school policies, teaching and learning in the school; Finance Premises & Pay covers the school budget and how it is spent.  Each committee meets at least once a term.  Work with parents, carers and the wider community goes through the full governing body.  Policies and agreed minutes of meetings are available on request via the School Office or here on this website. Governors Newsletters to parents and carers are also here on this website.

There are a number of ways to get in touch with us: either face to face in the morning and afternoons; by leaving a note via the School Office; or by email parentgovernors@westways.sheffield.sch.uk and chairofgovernors@westways.sheffield.sch.uk.  Parent Governors for 2017/18 are George French, Jo Anderson and Nick Harris.  All communication will be in the strictest confidence.  We will acknowledge your comments, respond and report back as needed at the next full governors meeting.

 Westways Primary School:

Governing Body roles, 2017-2018



Chair of Governors Lynn Pocock
Vice Chair of Governors Heather Green
Chair of Finance, Premises & Pay Committee George French
Chair of Attainment, Curriculum & Policy Committee Heather Green
Headteacher performance reviewers (x3)

1.      Alex Forsyth

2.      Heather Green

3.      Lynn Pocock

Link role

Governor Leads

Behaviour & environment for learning

1.      Dave Clay

2.      Heather Green

Early Years Foundation Stage

Alex Forsyth

Gregory Shaw

Health & Safety


Nick Harris


Knowledge of the World


1.      Lynn Pocock

2.      Nick Harris

Leadership & management

Lynn Pocock




1.      Heather Green

2.      Andrew Cartledge



1.      George French

2.      Matthew Harper

Pupil Premium


1.      Wendy Scott

2.      Dave Clay


1.      Heather Green

2.      Nick Harris – e-safety

Safer recruitment

1.      Heather Green

2.      George French



1.      Wendy Scott

2.      Lynn Pocock

Teaching & learning overview


1.      Lynn Pocock

2.      Gregory Shaw

3.      Nick Harris

Governor training co-ordinator

Sam Fearnehough


Committee membership

Attainment, Curriculum & Policy


1.      Heather Green

2.      Wendy Scott

3.      Lynn Pocock

4.      Gregory Shaw

5.      Nick Harris

6.      Matthew Harper

Finance, Pay & Premises


1.      George French

2.      Heather Green

3.      Dave Clay

4.      Andy Cartledge

5.      Alex Forsyth

Advisor: Rachel Wilson, School Business Manager

Pay sub-committee (x4)




1.      Lynn Pocock

2.      Sam Fearnehough

3.      George French

4.      Dave Clay

Westways Primary School:

Governing Body Register of Interests

Governors 2017/2018

Business Interests:
business partnerships/proprietorships
company directorships
charity trusteeships
Personal Interests:

immediate or close connections of governor also linked to School
relevant business involvement of  anyone with close connection to governor
Membership of any other school governing body
Andrew Cartledge None None None
Dave Clay

Employee, Longley Park 6th Form College

Trustee, Green Top Community Circus

Child a pupil of Westways None
Alex Forsyth Employee, South Yorkshire Housing Association None None
George French Director, Gsport 3 children are pupils at Westways None
Heather Green None None

Bankwood Community Primary (co-opted Governor since Sept 2014)

Totley All Saints (Foundation Governor since Sept 2011)

Nick Harris Teacher of Science, Tapton School 3 children are pupils of Westways None
 Jo Anderson 2 Children are pupils of Westways None
Matthew Harper Teacher, Westways None None
Lynn Pocock Chaplain, Sheffield Children’s Hospital None None
Wendy Scott Deputy Headteacher, Westways None None
Gregory Shaw Academic IT Officer, University of Sheffield None None
Heather Stewart Project  Officer, Sheffield City Council (Capital Delivery Service) None None
Other Governors during 2014- 2016
Isobel Bowler Member, Sheffield City Council & Cabinet Member None None
Dave Gibbs NW Sheffield City Learning Centre Child a pupil of Westways None
Mike McColgan None Child a pupil of Westways None
Alison Sandford Teaching Assistant, Westways None None
Rob Thompson Senior Urban Planner, Sheffield City Council Child a pupil of Westways None
Abdul-Fattah Yafai PhD Student, University of Sheffield Children pupils of Westways None

Attendance at meetings

To be updated shortly